The Little Engine That Could

The LittleBook cover for Little Engine that could Engine That Could
Retold by Watty Piper
New York: Platt & Munk, Publishers, 1930

This is Jim’s contribution to Elijah’s Little Library.  Spoiler Alert!  If you think you might be receiving a baby shower gift from House Reimund this book will be included.  It is our favorite book to give as a baby gift.

How can you not love a book that starts out with such great sounds?  “Chug, chug, chug.  Puff, puff, puff.  Ding-dong, ding-dong.” It’s almost musical.  This little engine is a trooper.  An example of positive thinking!

I liked reading this book to our girls.  I had the Big Important Engine’s bellow, the Shiny New Engine’s arrogant voice, and the Rusty Old Freight Engine’s tired voice.  My favorite, of course, was the very little engine’s voice.  I loved doing its voice with the engine rhythm, “I think I can-I think I can…”.  Slow at first and then faster and faster.  It is a great book to read aloud.

 

Leave a Reply

