Picking Apples & Pumpkins

pickingapples
Hutchings, Amy and Richard Hutchings.  Picking Apples & Pumpkins.  New York: Scholastic, 1994.

Today was a fall day in central Texas.  The day dawned clear, crisp and cold.  At our house it was 33° F.  In central Texas this is cold!  It was glorious. We had our first frost!  Take a look at the picture I have included of the frost on the grass and the little house roof. I know, I know its very light, but it is frost.

fall_nov2016In Picking Apples & Pumpkins it looks like Kristy has the same bright start to her day. She and her friends and family went apple picking. Have you ever been apple picking? I have not, but this colorful book illustrated with photographs makes me wish I had.  At the orchard, Kristy and her friends and family got a hay ride out to the apple trees.  They picked Macouns, a variety I am not certain I have ever seen.  They look bright red on the outside and white and crisp on the inside.  Kristy and her friends ate apples, while they worked.  They climbed to the top of the apple trees and picked apples.  After the Macouns, they went on to pick yellow Delicious apples. All that tree climbing and apple picking no wonder they were hungry for lunch!

As the title promises they move on to the pumpkin patch.  I haven’t seen a pumpkin patch in a field like Kristy and her friends visit, but I love to look at the Pumpkin Patch that a local church does every year.  It is delightful to watch all the little ones work to pick the perfect pumpkin.  In this book, they had little pumpkins and big ones.  Kristy and her friend pick their favorites.  At this point, in my day I would have opted for a name, but this family is hardy!  They go home and make apple pie and carve pumpkins.  What a fantastic day they had!

While I didn’t go picking apples and pumpkins, I was able to get out in the fresh air and sunshine.  I am grateful for this fall season.  Here’s a portion of poem by e.e. cummings for a lovely fall day.

i thank you God for most this
amazing day; for the leaping
greenly spirits of trees and a blue
true dream of sky; and for
everything
which is natural which is
infinite which is yes

Leave a Reply

