It’s Thankgiving

thanksgivingPrelutsky, Jack. It’s Thanksgiving. Illustrated by Marylin Hafner. New York: Scholastic, 1982.

Good morning!  Happy Thanksgiving!  It is a wonderful morning, cool and clear.  I offer some poetry for your enjoyment this day.

First a poem from this book. I have no recollection of picking up this slim volume of poems for this holiday, but it is one of my favorite little books.  When my girls were small, I used to share these poems over the day on Thanksgiving. Perhaps our favorite was “Daddy’s Football Game.” We would arrange dinner so that we could watch Texas A&M and Texas play on Thanksgiving day. I adore the poem “It’s Happy Thanksgiving”.  It is all about visiting his Grandma and cooking with her.  I remember visiting my Nana on Thanksgiving, but there were so many people in the kitchen I did not help her cook.  I do remember cooking with my Mom and I hope my girls remember cooking with me.

The First Thanksgiving

When the Pilgrims
first gathered together to share
with their Indian friends
in the mild autumn air,
they lifted their voices
in jubilant praise
for the bread on the table,
the berries and maize,
for field and for forest,
for turkey and deer,
for the bountiful crops
they were blessed with that year.
They were thankful for these
as they feasted away,
and as they were thankful,
we’re thankful today.

I got up early to write these words for a day I love.  By the time it is over I am tired and worn, but I love cooking dinner for our family.  I have just been told that the Texas A&M and LSU game begins at 6:30 pm.  It is a good thing we are eating early and will have everything cleaned up by kick-off.  The girls and I may send Jim off to the den to watch the game and we will play a game or watch a movie.  One of my favorite blessings is by Irving Berlin.  You can hear it in the movie, White Christmas. Here it is, perhaps you can hear Bing Crosby sing it to you while you read it.

When I’m worried and
I can’t sleep
I count my blessings instead of sheep,
And I fall asleep counting
my blessings.

When my bankroll is
getting small,
I think of when I had none at all,
And I fall asleep counting my blessings.

Irving Berlin ©1952

As I go to start the last of the cooking, here are my own humble words for this day.

We are gathered together this Thanksgiving Day,
To celebrate and feast in our own special way.
We remember our family wherever they roam
and we are thankful for everyone’s heart, health and home.
For all that we have and all that we treasure,
We are truly blessed beyond all measure.
We hope you can celebrate, however is best
With friends or family to share how you’re blest.
Thanksgiving Day, November 24, 2016

Leave a Reply

