Happy Valentine’s Day

spider_valentinesrunawaybunny

  • Kraus, Robert. How Spider Saved Valentine’s Day. New York: Scholastic, Inc., 1985.
  • Brown, Margaret Wise. The Runaway Bunny.  Illustrated by Clement Hurd. New York: HarperCollins, 1942.

Happy Valentine’s Day to everyone!  Today I offer you two different stories for your pleasure.

The first is by Robert Kraus.  He gave us a spider for a hero.  In How Spider Saved Valentine’s Day Spider and his friends Lady Bug and Fly are excited for Valentine’s Day.  They attend Public Bug School No. 1. They have valentines for everyone in their class.  They each got one for their teacher, Miss Quito. As the Valentine’s Day festivities begin, they discover that they have forgotten valentines for the two caterpillars that sat in the back and slept all day.  Oh, No! What will they do?  Read this book and see how Spider saves the day!

Spider is brave and thoughtful.  This silly series is so much fun to read.  I think this is a terrific book to read to your young Valentine.

The second book is not specifically a Valentine’s Day, but it is a story of true and constant love.  I adore this book, The Runaway Bunny! Every time I read it I am completely charmed. This book is a verbal hide and seek between the mother bunny and her little one.  She lets her little one know that wherever, he/she roams Mama will always be there.  She will always love her little bunny. You can tell how much they care for each other.

If you become a bird and fly away from me,
said his mother, I will be a tree that you come home to.

 

Mama Bunny is loving and patient.  She is a role model that can be hard to live up to. I can remember some long, long days, when my girls were giving me grief.  My patience was in tatters.  I really wanted to sell them to the gypsies (not sure they would be taken).  Have you had one of those days?  On those days I took a deep breath and thought of this book and how much I really loved my little ones. We sat down, cuddled up and read this book.  It was good for all of us. After all as the little bunny said:

Shucks, said the bunny, I might just as well stay where I am and be your little bunny.

To you and to all your wonderful little ones, Happy Valentine’s Day.

 

Leave a Reply

